Restaurant Buyout NYC: What It Means and Who Offers One
Restaurant buyout NYC explained: what it means, seated capacities of 80 to 200 at 10 Manhattan restaurants, what the pages say about price, and lead times.
A restaurant buyout in NYC means one party books the whole restaurant for an afternoon or evening instead of a room inside it. Of 13 Manhattan restaurants checked, ten print a seated buyout capacity, from 80 guests at Greywind to 200 at Il Gattopardo, and none of their pages or event kits prints a buyout minimum or fee. Capacities, minimums and policies below come from each restaurant’s own website and event documents, checked in October 2026.
Restaurant buyouts in NYC, smallest to largest
| Restaurant | Address | Buyout, seated / standing | Largest listed room instead |
|---|---|---|---|
| Little Owl | Not listed; its Townhouse is at 55 Grove St | Up to 33 guests in total | The Townhouse: 40 seated / 80 cocktail-style |
| Greywind | 451 Tenth Ave | 80 / 120 | The Loft: 40 / 60 |
| Da Claudio | 21 Ann St | 96 / 125 | 52 / 70 |
| Union Square Cafe | 101 E 19th St | 100 / 200 | Park & Irving Room: 40 / 45 |
| Ci Siamo | 440 W 33rd St | 100 / 250 | Private dining room: 50 / 75 |
| The Modern | 9 W 53rd St | 100 / 250 | Private dining room: 64 / 80 |
| Peasant | 194 Elizabeth St | Up to 120 (split not stated) | No room capacity listed |
| La Pecora Bianca (NoMad) | 1133 Broadway | 120 / 140 reception | Havana Room: 20 |
| Gramercy Tavern | 42 E 20th St | 120 / 150 (kit) | Private Dining Room: 20 |
| Rosemary’s East Side | 350 1st Ave | 130 / 200 | The Pantry: 40 / 50 |
| Freemans | 2 Freeman Alley | 140 / 200 | Red Room: 20 to 30 seated |
| Il Gattopardo | 13-15 W 54th St | 200 / 300 | Atrium: 70 / 90 |
| Delmonico’s | 56 Beaver St | Up to 550 (split not stated) | Wonder Room: 125 for a reception |
How these were chosen: a restaurant is listed when its own page or event kit gives a capacity for the whole restaurant, so the list is not exhaustive, and the order is by seated capacity, not a ranking of the cooking. Gramercy Tavern’s web page says 120 seated “with ample space for cocktails,” and the 150 standing figure comes from its event kit. La Pecora Bianca’s 2026 events brochure gives NoMad 100 seated and 120 reception style; the table uses the web page’s 120 and 140.
What does it mean when a restaurant has a buyout?
It means the building is yours for the event. Rosemary’s East Side describes its buyout as “exclusive use of the entire restaurant,” and Greywind’s as “exclusive use of both the main dining room and bar area,” with a standing reception in the bar followed by a seated, family-style dinner in the dining room.
Two smaller formats differ from it. A private room is a separate space with its own door: La Pecora Bianca’s Havana Room is “fully enclosed with a sliding door.” A semi-private space stays in view of the main room: Union Square Cafe’s Alcove is a “semi-private space overlooking the buzz and lively energy of the main dining room.”
What is the difference between a buyout and a private dining room?
Capacity, then timing. Private rooms come with fixed windows: Gramercy Tavern’s kit lets dinner guests arrive at its private dining room from 5:30 PM to 9 PM and holds the room until 11:30 PM. For the buyout, the same kit calls reservation timing flexible, as do the Union Square Cafe and Ci Siamo kits.
The capacity test is arithmetic: a buyout starts to make sense when the largest room on offer is smaller than the RSVP list. Gramercy Tavern’s room holds 20 against a 120-seat buyout, six times as many. Union Square Cafe’s holds 40 against 100 (2.5 times), Ci Siamo’s 50 against 100 (twice) and The Modern’s 64 against 100 (about 1.6 times). Of the 12 restaurants that list a room, nine list a largest room that seats 52 or fewer, so a seated party of 53 or more outgrows every room at those nine. Combined rooms close part of the gap at some: Freemans’ Red, Drawing and Blue rooms together seat up to 80 against a 140-seat buyout, and Il Gattopardo’s Atrium and Cellar seat 110 against 200, so ask what combinations cost.
How many guests fit in a restaurant buyout?
Ten of the 13 print both numbers. On the restaurants’ web pages the ten seated figures run from 80 to 200 with a median of 110; seven sit at 120 or below, and only Rosemary’s East Side, Freemans and Il Gattopardo go higher. La Pecora Bianca’s brochure figure of 100 would move that median to 100. Standing figures run from 120 at Greywind to 300 at Il Gattopardo (median 200).
The standing-to-seated ratio runs from about 1.2 times at La Pecora Bianca (140 against 120) to 2.5 times at Ci Siamo and The Modern (250 against 100), with Union Square Cafe at twice (200 against 100).
Multi-site brands scale by location: The Consulate lists buyouts of up to 110 guests on the Upper West Side, 120 in Midtown and 150 in Murray Hill. Balthazar’s private events page says it “can accommodate over 200 guests” without using the word buyout. Treat any printed figure as a ceiling to confirm: Freemans’ web page lists up to 200 for a full-restaurant reception, while its packages PDF (updated September 2025) says one hundred and seventy-five on page 2 and 200 on page 3.
How much does a restaurant buyout cost?
On the pages and event kits checked, buyout pricing is by inquiry. None of the 13 restaurants above, or Panda Harlem on 12th Avenue, prints a buyout minimum or fee. Gramercy Tavern, Union Square Cafe, Ci Siamo and The Modern print private-room minimums in their event kits, then give the buyout a line such as “Please inquire with our team for pricing.” Rosemary’s East Side prints room minimums of $1,500 to $8,000 and “Please inquire for minimums” for the buyout, and Panda Harlem lists a $2,500 private-room minimum with a buyout minimum that “varies by guest count.” Six restaurants, counting Panda Harlem, price the room and not the building.
The room figures are the nearest numbers available, not quotes. As of October 2026, private-room dinner minimums in the four kits run from $4,500 to $8,500 from January to November and from $6,000 to $12,500 in December on most nights, before gratuity and 8.875% sales tax; Union Square Cafe and Ci Siamo set a $3,000 minimum for Sunday dinner all year. Those rooms hold 20 to 64 guests, so they say little about a 100-guest building. Get these in writing from the events coordinator:
- The minimum by guest count and day, and whether December is priced separately.
- What it excludes. The kits leave out gratuity and sales tax; Panda Harlem’s site states a 20% gratuity on all parties, a 5% admin fee for parties of 8 or more and a 3.99% service fee on card payments.
- The deposit. All four kits ask for a 50% deposit on the room minimum, fully refundable for cancellations more than 28 days out. Buyout pricing is written as “inquire,” so ask whether the same terms govern a buyout.
- Start and end time, and the date the final headcount locks. Union Square Cafe’s kit asks for its guarantee 48 hours ahead.
How far in advance do you book a restaurant buyout?
Two pages checked print a lead time, and both are minimums. Little Owl says “All buyouts must be secured at least a month in advance,” and Balthazar says private events “should be planned at least 30 days in advance.” The open-date lists that Gramercy Tavern and Ci Siamo publish cover private dining rooms, not buyouts.
Gramercy Tavern’s page takes inquiries “on a first come, first served basis” and says no reservation is confirmed “without a valid credit card & signed contract to hold the room.”
Can you buy out a restaurant for a small party?
Sometimes, and the smallest published buyouts are small. Little Owl will host “up to 33 total guests” for a buyout in its original dining room, and Greywind’s Spygold lounge lists a partial buyout at 25 guests and a full buyout at 60. Every other buyout in the table is described at 80 guests or more. For groups of 20 or fewer the published options are rooms: Gramercy Tavern’s room and La Pecora Bianca’s Havana Room each hold 20, and Union Square Cafe’s Alcove seats up to 10.
Put the buyout question in writing
Email each shortlisted restaurant the same note: your date and a backup, start and end time, a headcount floor and ceiling, and a request for the buyout minimum. Then read the guarantee clause; why your headcount will change explains how the guaranteed number sets the bill. Why December costs more covers the seasonal step in room minimums, and what to ask before planning a private dinner lists the contract questions. Confirm every figure with the events coordinator before you sign.
Frequently asked questions
What is a restaurant buyout?
A restaurant buyout means one party has exclusive use of the whole restaurant for an afternoon or evening. Rosemary’s East Side describes its buyout as “exclusive use of the entire restaurant.” A private room is a single space inside a restaurant, such as La Pecora Bianca’s Havana Room, which is fully enclosed with a sliding door.
How much does a restaurant buyout cost in NYC?
On the pages and event kits checked in October 2026, none of the 13 restaurants prints a buyout minimum or fee; Gramercy Tavern, Union Square Cafe, Ci Siamo and The Modern each direct readers to inquire for pricing. Where a figure is printed it is for a room, such as the $8,500 Monday-to-Saturday dinner minimum for Ci Siamo’s private dining room from January to November. Ask the events coordinator for the buyout minimum by guest count.
How many guests fit in a restaurant buyout?
Among the ten restaurants that print a seated buyout figure, capacity runs from 80 at Greywind to 200 at Il Gattopardo, with a median of 110 on their web pages. Little Owl is far smaller at up to 33 guests in total, while Delmonico’s lists buyouts of up to 550.
How far in advance do you book a restaurant buyout?
Little Owl says buyouts must be secured at least a month in advance, and Balthazar says private events should be planned at least 30 days ahead. Both are minimums rather than recommended lead times, and neither speaks to December.


