The Private Room · Independent editorial blog · New York, November 2026

Private dining in New York, reported.

Stories from the rooms behind the dining room — where New Yorkers celebrate, negotiate, toast, and occasionally get the seating chart exactly right.

Edited by Victoria Lane · New reporting every month

From the private rooms · Oct 28

Semi-Private Dining in NYC: What It Means and Where

Harriet Vance · October 28, 2026 · 8 min read

Semi-private dining in NYC explained: what the term means at eight restaurants, spaces for 6 to 40 guests, and what their pages print about minimums.

A semi-private dining room, as eight New York restaurants use the term on their own sites, is a reserved part of a working restaurant, such as an alcove, a bar lounge or one table, that stops short of the full privacy of a closed room. The spaces run from an alcove for 6 to 10 guests at Union Square Cafe to a space for 40 seated at Rosemary’s East Side.

Capacities, minimums and policies below come from each restaurant’s own website and event documents, checked in October 2026.

Where are the semi-private dining rooms in NYC, and how big are they?

Restaurant Address Semi-private space What the page adds
WEST10WEST 242 W 10th St One table: page says 6 to 10 guests Its inquiry form says 10-16: confirm
Union Square Cafe 101 E 19th St Alcove: up to 10 seated Event kit, as of October 2026: 6-10 seated; dinner minimum $1,500 January to November
La Pecora Bianca (Bryant Park) 20 W 40th St Alcove: 9-12 guests A corner table on the main dining floor
Aquavit 65 E 55th St Bar Room: 12 seated or 20 standing Event kit prices dinner per person and prints no room minimum
Il Gattopardo 13-15 W 54th St Alcove: 16 seated; Cellar: 30 seated The Cellar is semi-private “upon availability”
The Consulate 519 Columbus Ave (UWS); 44 W 56th St (Midtown) Up to 20 (UWS); up to 30 (Midtown) Seated or standing not stated: confirm
Cellini 65 E 54th St Bar Lounge: 13-35 guests Seated or standing not stated: confirm
Rosemary’s East Side 350 1st Ave Speakeasy 20, Wine Bar Lounge 18, Pantry 40 (seated) Printed room minimums run from $1,500 to $8,000

Inclusion test: a space is listed when the restaurant’s own page or kit calls it semi-private and prints a size. These eight are a selection, ordered by the largest figure printed.

What is a semi-private dining room?

Seven of the eight pages say where the space sits, and they use the word four ways, so ask which one is on offer.

  • In view of the dining room. Union Square Cafe’s Alcove looks over the main floor from one oval table, and Il Gattopardo and La Pecora Bianca put their Alcoves on the main dining floor.
  • At the bar. Aquavit’s Bar Room, under a Bar/Lounge heading, holds 12 seated or 20 standing, and its kit describes a Lounge with the same figures at the back of the bar. Cellini’s Bar Lounge is on its main floor, and Rosemary’s Wine Bar Lounge sits beside the bar.
  • Inside a room that keeps serving. WEST10WEST seats 6 to 10 at its largest table while the rest of the room dines as normal.
  • In an adjoining room. Il Gattopardo’s Cellar sits beside its Atrium, and Rosemary’s describes The Speakeasy as a “hidden dining room” beside The Pantry. Both are called semi-private, the Cellar conditionally.

La Pecora Bianca’s Large Party Dining page, which does not use the word, offers to section off part of the main dining room for up to 45 guests and is headed “25 - 45.” The NoMad, Midtown and SoHo pages list large parties in the main dining room at up to 11, 14 and 12 guests, and the Upper West Side page at up to 16. No page says how the figures relate, so ask which applies.

Privacy can also be conditional. Il Gattopardo’s page lets the Cellar be set as a semi-private space for up to 30 seated “upon availability” without saying what availability depends on, and Rosemary’s says its Pantry “can be expanded with The Speakeasy for full privacy,” which points to a second room. WEST10WEST shows the problem on one page: the text offers “six to ten guests” and the inquiry form “Private dinner (10–16),” so confirm which headcount the semi-private dinner means.

What is the difference between semi-private and private dining?

La Pecora Bianca’s Bryant Park page draws the line with walls: its two Library rooms are “fully enclosed with sliding doors on each side” and hold up to 30 guests each, against 9 to 12 for its semi-private Alcove.

The paperwork can be identical. Union Square Cafe’s event kit has one terms page headed “Private & Semi-Private Spaces”: no room rental fee, a food and beverage minimum, a 50% deposit, full deposit refunds for cancellations more than 28 days out, and a guest-count guarantee 48 hours ahead. At that restaurant the difference is the room and its minimum, not the terms.

Aquavit blurs the line. Its page lists two private dining rooms and a semi-private Bar Room, while its kit counts three private dining spaces, the Lounge among them, yet offers the Lounge for semi-private receptions of up to 20. The kit lists a projector, screen and two microphones for the Linné Salon and Nobel Room and none for the Lounge, so ask about AV before planning speeches there.

Is semi-private dining cheaper than a private room?

Not reliably. Of the eight restaurants’ pages and kits checked, only two print dollar minimums for semi-private spaces, and the figures show a smaller room more than a lower price tier. Aquavit’s kit lists dinner from $175 per person, and La Pecora Bianca’s large-party page ties minimums to seats reserved, time and date without printing a figure.

As of October 2026, the event kit linked from Union Square Cafe’s private dining page sets the Alcove’s dinner minimum at $1,500 from January to November and $2,000 in December, before tax and gratuity. The Park & Irving Room’s Monday-to-Saturday dinner minimums are $5,000 outside December and $7,500 in December. Per seat, the order flips outside December: a full Alcove of 10 works out to a minimum of 150 dollars a guest against 125 dollars for a full Park & Irving Room of 40. The Parlor Bar, an hourly add-on the kit also calls semi-private, carries January-to-November dinner minimums of $1,700 for 5:00 to 6:00 PM and $3,400 for 6:00 to 7:00 PM, each above the Alcove’s whole-evening minimum.

As of October 2026, Rosemary’s East Side prints a minimum range for each of its four rooms. Dividing each end by the seated capacity, rounded to the dollar, gives the minimum per seat:

  • Greenhouse (private, 30 seated): $2,000 to $5,000, or 67 to 167 dollars a guest.
  • Speakeasy (semi-private, 20): $1,500 to $3,500, or 75 to 175 dollars.
  • Wine Bar Lounge (semi-private, 18): $1,500 to $2,500, or 83 to 139 dollars.
  • Pantry (semi-private, 40): $3,000 to $8,000, or 75 to 200 dollars.

The two lowest floors on the page belong to semi-private rooms, and so does the highest ceiling. The private Greenhouse has the lowest per-head floor. The page does not say which dates set each end, so confirm with the events coordinator.

How much noise should you expect in a semi-private dining room?

None of the eight pages prints a noise level or sound-proofing claim for its semi-private space. The only noise warning found covers private rooms: under a “Soundproofed environments” heading, The Smith’s private dining FAQ says guests “should expect some ambient noise from our dining room.” Where a semi-private space sits on the dining floor, as the Alcoves do, ask what is booked nearby. The Birthday Table’s piece on reading a restaurant’s site for noise signals covers party dinners.

Can you decorate a semi-private dining area?

The pages answer by restaurant, not by space. The Smith permits “flowers, balloons, table centerpieces, and banners” and opens its spaces 30 minutes before the start, for setup only. Union Square Cafe’s kit leaves florals out of event pricing, lets hosts order from any vendor for delivery 2-3 hours before the start, and calls the table votives complimentary for evening events.

What should you settle before booking a semi-private space?

Ask what the privacy depends on, such as availability at Il Gattopardo’s Cellar or a second room at Rosemary’s Pantry. Ask whether a figure is seated or standing, since Cellini and The Consulate print guest counts without saying. Ask how the minimum applies if fewer guests attend.

How to choose a rehearsal dinner restaurant covers when semi-private is enough. At the other end of the scale, what a restaurant buyout means and who offers one compares whole-restaurant capacities, and small private dining rooms for 6 to 16 guests ranks 21 rooms by published maximum. Confirm every figure with the events coordinator before signing.

Frequently asked questions

What is a semi-private dining room?

As eight New York restaurants use the term on their own sites, a semi-private dining room is a reserved part of a working restaurant that stops short of the full privacy of a closed room. They apply it to an alcove (Union Square Cafe, Il Gattopardo), a bar lounge (Aquavit, Cellini) or one table in a room that keeps serving (WEST10WEST). Published sizes run from 6 to 10 guests up to 40 seated.

What is the difference between semi-private and private dining?

La Pecora Bianca’s Bryant Park page separates them by walls: its Library rooms are “fully enclosed with sliding doors” and its semi-private Alcove is a corner table on the main dining floor. At Union Square Cafe the event-kit terms are the same for both: no room fee, a food and beverage minimum and a 50% deposit.

Is semi-private dining cheaper than a private room?

Not reliably. As of October 2026, Union Square Cafe’s event kit lists a $1,500 dinner minimum for the Alcove from January to November against $5,000 for the Park & Irving Room’s Monday-to-Saturday dinners, yet a full Alcove’s minimum works out to 150 dollars a guest against 125 dollars. At Rosemary’s East Side two semi-private rooms share the lowest floor, $1,500, and one has the highest ceiling, $8,000.

How much noise should you expect in a semi-private dining room?

No page checked in October 2026 prints a noise level for a semi-private space. Union Square Cafe’s Alcove overlooks the main dining room, WEST10WEST seats its semi-private dinner while the rest of the room dines as normal, and The Smith says guests in its private rooms should expect some ambient noise.

More place cards

3 stories · Newest first
RSVP to the newsletter

One reported story, monthly

New reporting from the private rooms of New York — costs, lead times, and the seating charts that worked. One email a month, nothing else.

No spam · unsubscribe anytime · stories only